NAILBERRY: L’OXYGÉNÉ

The story: this one was an accident. One of those I-need-to-buy-something-else-to-get-free-delivery moments, and on the site in question it looked a luxurious shade of red, rather than the 80s power-pink it actually is. It sat under a chest of drawers for a while, while I pretended I was going to return it, and then made its way into my bulging varnish bag, looking self-conscious, like the person who knows they’ve been given a pity-invite to a party. 

How I used it: because I don’t know that I’ll ever be ready to rock that colour on my actual fingers, I chose to give it a test run on my feet. My toe nails to be precise. I gave it two coats on my big toes and one coat on the rest, because I have freakishly small toe nails and it’s winter and, really, who’s looking?

nailberry

The Ratings

Pigment: 10/10. I don’t think I’ve ever used a nail varnish that’s this pigmented before. You really could get away with just doing one coat if you were in a hurry. The colour is rich – almost plastic-looking – which is what I secretly want from a nail varnish. 

Application: 9/10. I only had one varnish-on-toe moment with this bottle, which is pretty good for me. The brush is fairly narrow and easy to use, and the varnish dried really quickly, so I could get on with more important things, like cleaning varnish off my toe.

Staying power: 10/10. I mean, it’s on my toes, which are usually in big socks or trainers at this time of year, but over two weeks on and it looks as though it’s been freshly painted – no chips, scratches or peeling. 

Packaging: 8/10. I’m not really sure what they could do to improve this rating – develop a bottle that paints my nails for me?

Do I love it? Apart from the colour, this is a seriously good varnish. I’d definitely buy from the range again, only this time on purpose and in a colour that would make Barbie less proud. 

In their words: The innovative lacquer contains a breakthrough formulation that allows air and moisture to pass through the polish resulting in healthier nails.

5 FREE from chemicals (no formaldehyde, no toluene, no camphor, no DPB, no formaldehyde resin), it is suitable for pregnant women, children and most allergy sufferers.

Vegan & cruelty free, it provides long lasting, salon quality finish without compromise.

What’s your favourite vegan or cruelty-free nail varnish? Leave a note in the comments – I’d love to try out more!

Leave a Reply

