REN: ROSA CENTIFOLIA FOAMING CLEANSER

The story: you may remember my foray into glycerin cleansers. Well, this is what I bought as a reaction to the slightly filmy feeling I was left with after that. I wanted suds and I wanted them powerful. I didn’t do a huge amount of research – I was desperate – but this cleanser had good reviews and sounded like what I was after. For the first week or so, I was right. 

How I used it: generally, I remove most of my make-up first with an oil or glycerin-based cleanser, then I use one pump of this, massage it into my skin before rinsing and patting dry. I also use it as my daily cleanser in the morning and in the evenings.

ren-face-wash

The Ratings

Skin improvement: 5/10. Initially, this was like somebody had waved a magic wand and my skin was clean again. My pores unclogged, the greasy feeling went away and I felt fresh. However. Clean as this feels, I find it pretty drying, and I’ve noticed dry skin on my forehead and chin.

Squeaky clean-iness: 6/10. I can’t deny that my skin feels squeaky clean on the surface after washing with this, but in places, my pores will feel clogged and I’m not sure it’s doing what I need.

Smelliness: 5/10. There’s no real smell to speak of here – a light whisp of something planty, perhaps, but other than that it’s neither good nor bad.

Packaging: 8/10. I do really like the way this dispenses its product. One pump turns the liquid into a light foam that you can apply straight to skin, no fiddling required. Looks-wise, it’s fine – who doesn’t like a bit of white and blue?

Do I love it? I’m conflicted. Maybe it’s just not right for my skin; maybe it’s because it’s fricking winter, but this feels like it’s sapping moisture and not cleansing deeply enough. Plus, now Ren are owned by Unilever, I have to consider whether or not they fit into my vegan and cruelty-free parameters. The debate rages – would you still buy from a company that doesn’t test if their parent company does? I read an interesting point last week, likening it to buying vegan food from a non-vegan supermarket – some of the money still goes to the the dark side, but overall, you’re supporting what you believe in. All opinions are welcome in the comments!

In their words: REN’s philosophy of Clean Skincare can be summed up in three words: Performance, Purity, Pleasure:

Performance
REN gives you groundbreaking product formulation, the latest hi-tech actives, rigorous product testing and clinically proven results.

Purity
REN uses only 100% plant and mineral derived actives and is free from skin-unfriendly synthetic ingredients *.

Pleasure
We believe that the texture, fragrance and experience of using REN can make the world a slightly nicer place to be and make us feel slightly nicer being here.

What’s your favourite vegan or cruelty-free ? Leave a note in the comments – I always want to find out more!

Leave a Reply

