HONEST: HERBAL TONER

The story: if I’m totally frank, when I started out on this journey, I didn’t really know what a toner was or why I might need one. I read some expert knowledge (thank you, internet) and decided I’d give one a go. But when you’re starting blind, where do you go? I found Honest online and loved their spiel, their natural ingredients and, yes, their packaging. Also – weirdly – that they’re from Birmingham. I wanted a toner that would improve texture and refresh my skin, and look hella good on my bathroom shelf. 

How I used it: well, because I’m a novice, I had to consult the internet (thanks again, webby), and the internet was divided. I tried spraying it on cotton wool and sweeping over my face, but this felt too much like cleansing. So I tried spritzing it on before my serum, but this seemed to somehow minimise the effects of my serum. So eventually, after a chance encounter with advice through work, I decided to spritz it on after serum and before moisturiser, letting it dry before completing the next step. 

Honest toner.jpeg

The Ratings

Skin improvement: 3/10. I’m not totally convinced this was doing much for my skin. It feels nice to spray on, but I didn’t notice any real improvement in texture, hydration or cleanliness. If anything, my skin felt more dry after half a bottle, and my pores felt clogged. Maybe I’ve been using it wrong; maybe it’s not the toner my skin needs, but I was expecting more, given its ingredients.

Application: 6/10. I mean, given that I didn’t really know what I was doing, this  was pretty easy to apply. If you’re using the cotton wool sweeping method, a tippy-uppy bottle would be easier, but for spritzing, this was great.

Smelliness: 8/10. It smells clean and fresh and like tea tree, so I feel like it’s doing my skin some good. 

Packaging: 8/10. It looks bloody lovely, doesn’t it? 

Do I love it? I don’t love it or hate it – I’m just a bit ‘meh’ about it. Having never used a toner before, I’d expected to see some difference, and I didn’t. As a final-bits-of-make-up remover, it’s great, but as for clarifyinf and improving my skin’s texture, I’m just not convinced. I will say, though, that I’d try other pieces from Honest’s range.

In their words: specially created for all skins in need of Honest clarity.

This gentle, alcohol-free, balancing toner removes the last traces of cleanser and prepares your skin for moisturising. We’ve steam distilled fresh lemons and blended them with antiseptic tea tree and calming neroli to refine, clarify and tone your skin.

Tell me about your favourite vegan or cruelty-free foundation in the comments – I would really love to hear about it. 

Leave a Reply

